Speaking Strong in the New Year

Speak Strong: Say what you MEAN. MEAN what you say. Don't be MEAN when you say it.I got to know WordStream author Meryl Runion by doing some freelance consulting for her on the side, while getting WordStream up and running.  Long story short, Hampton Ryan and I served as consultants and agents for her, helping her find a new publishing home for a couple of her books; Morgan James Publishing, a leading publisher of business books, entered into an agreement to publish Runion’s books SpeakStrong and Power Phrases, both about how to speak more effectively, especially in business.

Over the months, I have grown to appreciate Meryl’s work and writing more and more.  — That is not just because she also ultimately decided to publish How to Restore Sanity to Our Political Conversations with WordStream, but because as a business owner and publisher, I am very much in need of her helpful tips now more than ever before!

What great timing for me to stumble upon some books about how to communicate effectively in business!  So, for my New Year’s Resolution, I am not vowing to lose 10 pounds (although I should), and I am not going to quit smoking (I never started).  Instead, I am planning to be resolute about working on my business communication skills.  I, and many women in business, have unique hurdles when it comes to how we use and find our voices.  Sooo, for 2011, my New Year’s Resolution is to SPEAK STRONG, to learn to “say what I mean, mean what I say, and not be mean when I say it.”

Marti Williams, Publisher

About WordStream Publishing

WordStream Publishing is an independent publisher with a focus on both print and digital formats. WordStream Publishing is committed to amplifying the voices of the most creative, inspiring, and progressive authors out there. We publish in a range of topics: memoir, contemplative life, peace and justice, spiritual disciplines, and historical fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

